15
Mar
10

I gave my folks a surprise and they gave me one !

I was supposed to ride to Horsley Hills with other folks which was 2 days ride (170+170). But, sadly, I had to be back in the city to attend some class by 4 pm. Hence had to drop the ride outright. To reduce the regret I planned to join them till Devanahalli and turn back. We started at around 4.45 am at Jayadeva Hospital. Good folks, must say. I enjoyed riding n chatting with them. But it wasn’t for long, we reached Devanahalli by 6.45 am and I bid good-bye to them, repenting of course. I wasn’t any tired at that point and to the fact that it was just 22 km to Chikkaballapur (my granny’s place) from there and that my parents were there that day, without any more thought I cycled ahead to strike them with a surprise. I reached Chikkaballapur by 7.45 am. They were indeed surprised, but I got a bigger one, I gotta know that it was their anniversary that day !! (Cursed myself for having forgotten it and for not having wished them the first after striking them, it would have been a double-dhamaka-surprise :\) However felt good for having met them on the day, wishing them and taking blessings. Good Saturday eh, after all ? 🙂 Had breakfast, and got back on to the saddle, pedaling my way back to Bengaluru at 9.30 am and reached home at 1.30 pm. Good music on my sansa clip+, hydration fluid and a Gatorade drink, all compensated the scorching heat of the noon Sun. I also doused my head with water at a fuel pump to beat the heat. The breeze, for the next couple of miles, cooled the tiny water droplets and hence the faster I pedaled more cooler I felt :). Quite a ride it was, for that day.

I ended up scribbling a lot, I guess 😛

Ride stats —

The day: Saturday, 13th March 2010

Route: JP Nagar – Chikkaballapur – JP Nagar

Total distance covered: 150 km

Time on saddle: 7 hours

Average speed: 21.4 kmph

Current odometer reading : 2225 km

3 Responses to “I gave my folks a surprise and they gave me one !”


  1. May 3, 2010 at 12:09 PM

    Nice!! I’m thinking of a century ride at least by this year end… let me see…

    BTW nice background photo. Manchanabele??

    • 2 Sagar
      May 3, 2010 at 7:34 PM

      Thanks! Haven’t you done a century ride yet? It’s no big deal, why don’t you just plan and do it this weekend? and yeah, that photo is from Manchinabele.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 1,699 hits

The cyclist in me

Cycling Training Log

I support

criticalmassbangalore

make love.. not war.. ride a bicycle.. ditch the car

The photographer in me

My recent tweets

Archives


